top of page

James Reid biggest winner at MYX music awards 2018

Martin Nievera is the MYX Magna awardee of 2018

It was an all-James Reid show at the 13th MYX Music Awards held recently at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The heartthrob ruled over the competition with big wins, where he won all five awards out of his five nominations. Reid won Song of the Year, Male Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year, and Music Video of the Year, including Music Video Guest Appearance of the Year for "The Life" featuring girlfriend Nadine Lustre. His MYX chart-topper “Cool Down” won Song of the Year while “The Life,” co-directed by Nadine and Petersen Vargas, was the winning music video.

Sarah Geronimo, KZ Tandingan, and IV of Spades also emerged victorious with two awards each. Sarah won Female Artist of the Year and Collaboration of the Year with Yeng Constantino for “Kaibigan Mo.” KZ, meanwhile, got Urban Video of the Year for “Labo” and Media Soundtrack of the Year for “Two Less Lonely People in the World.” New Artist of the Year IV of Spades likewise received the MYX Bandarito Performance of the Year.

Also bagging trophies were Moira dela Torre, Darren Espanto, BoybandPH, Brisom, Super Junior, and Edward Barber.

A grand highlight of the event featured crooner Martin Nievera, awarded with the prestigious MYX Magna award. Angeline Quinto, Christian Bautista, Erik Santos, Jake Zyrus, Jed Madela, Karylle, Kyla, KZ Tandingan, Morissette, Robin Nievera, and Yael Yuzon all gave a powerful performance as tribute to the OPM icon.

Fans were also treated with exciting performances of British teen sensation HRVY, IV of Spades, Shanti Dope, Gloc-9, Yeng, Julie Anne San Jose, Darren, Ylona Garcia, Elmo Magalona, Janella Salvador, Kiana Valenciano, John Roa, TJ Monterde, Klarisse, Marlisa, Jona, Jay R, REQ, Midnasty, and more.

The awards night kicked off with the first-ever MYX Squadfest concert that showcased some of the hottest young artists around such as BoybandPH, Claudia Barretto, Edward Barber, Ex Battalion, Hashtags, Janina Vela, Jayda, Kisses Delavin, Maymay Entrata, Tony Labrusca, AC Bonifacio, Kyle Echarri, Jeremy Glinoga, Isabela Vinzon, Tala, Fern, and Volts Vallejo.

Aside from being hosted by the current MYX Squad—VJs Ai dela Cruz, Donny Pangilinan, Inigo Pascual, Robi Domingo, Sharlene San Pedro, and Sunny Kim—the event also welcomed back iconic VJs of the past: Bianca Roque, Chino Lui Pio, Heart Evangelista, Iya Villania, Luis Manzano, and Nikki Gil.

The much-awaited musical gathering, with the hashtag #MYXMusicAwards2018, also trended at no.1 on Twitter Philippines and came with an exciting innovation, the customized MYX Twitter emoji.

MYX also partnered with leading music streaming site Spotify for the first ever Spotify-made playlist for the nominees and winners.

For more celebrity updates, follow @abscbnpr on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram or visit

22 views0 comments


bottom of page